home login create account

Useful Information

Exchanging Money

When you need to exchange your foreign currency into Korean won, visit a bank, exchange service center, or an authorized exchange (hotels or travel agencies). Upon arrival, you can easily convert your money into the local currency at bank branches and money changers located in the airport.

General Bank Business Hours 09:00-16:00
* Closed on Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays.
Foreign Exchange Banks in Airports
(Incheon / Gimpo International Airport)
06:00-21:00
* Some locations may operate until 22:00 or 23:00.

Currency

The won (symbol: ₩ or code: KRW) is the currency of Korea and there are 1,000, 5,000, 10,000 and 50,000 won notes. There are 10, 50, 100 and 500 won coins as well.

Go to Currency Converter

Weather

Congress period is the end of August which is summer vacation season in Korea. Summer days are hot and humid with an average temperature of 27 degrees Celsius. Prepare an umbrella or raincoat and rain boots if visiting during the Congress period.

Furthermore, Korea has four distinct seasons. From September to November, Korea has comfortable temperatures with clear blue sky and spectacular foliage. Korea's winter is cold and dry but April and May are usually pleasant and warm, attracting many tourists.

  • Spring

    spring
  • Summer

    Summer
  • Autumn

    Autumn
  • Winter

    winter

Weather in SONGDO

Mostly Cloudy
12.0 C / 53.6 F

Time Difference

City Time
Seoul, Tokyo (Korea Time) 01:00 04:00 07:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00
Taipei, Manila, Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore 24:00 03:00 06:00 09:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00
Bangkok, Jakarta 23:00 02:00 05:00 08:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00
New Delhi, Calcutta 22:00 01:00 04:00 07:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00
Teheran, Kuwait, Jeddah 19:00 22:00 01:00 04:00 07:00 10:00 13:00 16:00
Hamburg, Rome, Paris, Amsterdam 17:00 20:00 23:00 02:00 05:00 08:00 11:00 14:00
London, Madrid 16:00 19:00 22:00 01:00 04:00 07:00 10:00 13:00
Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 01:00 04:00 07:00 11:00
New York, Montreal, Bogota, Toronto 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 02:00 05:00 08:00
Chicago, Houston 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 01:00 04:00 07:00
Vancouver, Seattle, San Francisco, Los Angeles 08:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 02:00 05:00
Sydney, Melbourne 02:00 05:00 08:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00

Previous day

How to use : Read the graph vertically to compare the time differences between cities from around the world.
* Please note the there is no daylight savings in Korea.
* Shaded boxes designate times that fall in the previous calendar day.

What time is it in Korea now? Click here

Internet

Internet service is often provided in public places such as airports, train stations, and bus terminals in Korea. PC rooms and internet cafes are also great places to go for and they are mostly 24 hours in operation.

Electricity and Voltage

The standard voltage in Korea is 220 volts (and 60 Hertz, or cycles), and the outlet has two round holes.

Mobile Phone Rentals and Roaming Service

As soon as visitors arrive at Incheon, Gimpo international airports, you can proceed to 'Roaming center' desks and get your mobile devices connected immediately with local network service provider after a simple registration.

Incheon International Airport Gimpo International Airport
KT OLLEH Public Area, 1F (Near Exit 10)
Tel. +82-1588-0608
SK Telecom Public Area, 1F (Near Exit 6)
Tel. +82-1566-0011
International Flights, 1F Right side
Tel. +82-2-6343-9000
LG Telecom Public Area, 1F (Near Exit 5)
Tel. +82-2-3416-7010

*Those mobile service companies’ branches in Incheon International Airport operate 24 hours.

SIM Card Purchase (Korea SIM card)

It is possible to purchase SIM cards from the major retail stores, convenience stores or from the website of the respective service providers. This service is cheaper than roaming phones, therefore preferred communication service by a large number of business travelers.

Duty Free Allowance

For items that are taxable, US $600 per capita from the total dutiable value shall be exempted from imposition of duty tax. For amounts that exceed the duty exemption, duty on the amount over will be charged per capita.
  • For items that are taxable, US $600 per capita from the total dutiable value shall be exempted from imposition of duty tax.
    For amounts that exceed the duty exemption, duty on the amount over will be charged per capita.
  • 1 carton of cigarettes
    (20 cigarettes, 50 cigars or 250 grams of tobacco)
  • 2 ounces of perfume
    (about 60㎖).

Things to be Aware of While Traveling

  • Tipping is not required and expected in Korea. If you want to be polite, just say “Gam-Sa-Ham-ni-da. (Thank you)".
  • Shoes should be removed when entering restaurants or homes with Ondol rooms.
  • Public transportation access areas, main streets, parks, and some restaurants and bars are designated as non-smoking areas.
  • Avoid wearing revealing clothing when visiting Buddhist temples or the DMZ.

Helpful Contacts

  • Korea Travel Hotline

    One-stop helpline available as a public service for local and international travelers
    Tel: +82-2-1330 * English, Japanese, Chinese available

  • BBB Korea(Before Babel Brigade)

    Free Interpretation service
    www.bbbkorea.org/global/eng/
    Tel: +82-2-1588-5644 * 19 languages available

  • Incheon International Airport Travel Information Center

    - Location: Arrivals Gate F 1F
    - Operating hours: 07:00-22:00
    - Tel: +82-32-743-2600~3 * English, Japanese, Chinese available

  • Gimpo International Airport Tourist Information Centre

    - Location: Normal Area 1F, Center
    - Operating hours: 10:00~22:00
    - Tel: +82-2-2660-2486~7 * English, Japanese, Chinese available

  • Diplomatic Missions in Korea

    www.mofa.go.kr * English available

  • Emergency Calls

    Police Department: 112
    Fire Department: 119

* The information above sourced by Korea Tourism Organization

Quick
Menu

Join Mailing List

맨위로